4E Electric Motor Systems Annex (4E EMSA)

4E is an IEA Implementing Agreement for a Co-operating Programme on Efficient Electrical End-Use Equipment (4E) with participation from thirteen countries from the Asia-Pacific, Europe, North America and Africa. It was established to share information and transfer experience in order to support good policy development in the field of energy efficient appliances and equipment, which is seen as one of the largest and most rapidly expanding areas of energy consumption.

Electric Motor Systems Annex (EMSA) is one of the research projects (Annexes) created within the framework of 4E. It bundles best technical practice and policy know-how in order to stimulate market transformation towards energy efficiency in the field of electric motor systems and their applications in industry, infrastructure and large buildings. EMSA works on specific topics related to motor systems efficiency, including:

  • International standards;
  • Policy;
  • Testing;
  • Capacity building.

EMSA has:

  • Developed a Motor Systems Tool that intends to assist engineers, machine builders, machine component suppliers, energy consultants and others working on optimizing machine systems to benefit from reduced electricity consumption. The tool is freely available for download here (requires registration);
  • Published the Motor Policy Guide - Part 1: Assessment of Existing Policies with an overview of motor policy instruments in Australia, China, Europe and the USA (download).
  • Built up a Testing Centres Network with 50 participating labs from 30 countries. The Network has annual meetings to discuss issues around motor testing.


4E Electric Motor Systems Annex (4E EMSA) Information

Program Type: 

Support Program




4E Electric Motor Systems Annex (4E EMSA)Resources